Men's Tennis sets 2018 schedule

Men's Tennis sets 2018 schedule

Coach Ted Lauer has put the final touches on his 2018 Tommie Men's Tennis schedule.

Lauer, a former St. Thomas assistant coach, takes over a team that returns six players from its 2016-17 roster, led by seniors Martin Beck and Ben Wait. There are six newcomers, including University of North Dakota transfer Eshan Varma, a 2015 graduate of Eastview High.

An ITA All-America honoree in doubles in fall 2016, Beck posted records of 21-6 in doubles and 11-5 in singles last year.

Wait was slowed by injury last season but is 15-8 in singles and 23-10 in doubles over his first three seasons at St. Thomas.

UST opens its season Feb. 10 with two matches in DePere, Wis. The Toms will take their annual spring-break trip to Hilton Head, S.C. in late March.

 

2018 Tommie Men's Tennis Schedule

Saturday, February 10 @St. Norbert (De Pere, Wis./(Western Racquet & Fitness Club) Noon

Saturday, February 10 vs. Milwaukee School of Engineering (De Pere, Wis., Western Racquet & Fitness Club) 3 p.m.

Saturday, February 17 vs. Concordia-Moorhead (Minneapolis/U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 7 p.m.

 

Friday, March 2 vs. Macalester (Minneapolis/U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 4 @Carleton (Lakeville/Lifetime Athletic) 2:30 p.m.

Friday, March 9 @St. Mary's (Winona/Winona Tennis Center) 6 p.m.

Saturday, March 17 St. Olaf (Minneapolis/U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 3:30 p.m.

March 24-31, Spring Break Trip (Hilton Head, S.C.)

 

Saturday, April 7 St. John's (St. Paul/St. Paul Academy Tennis Courts) 2 p.m.

Sunday, April 8 Hamline (St. Paul/St. Paul Academy Tennis Courts) 2 p.m.

Saturday, April 14 @Bethel (Mounds View) 2 p.m.

Saturday, April 28 @Gustavus (St. Peter) TBD

 

May 4-5 MIAC Playoffs (if qualify)