Women's Tennis sets 2018 schedule

Women's Tennis sets 2018 schedule

St. Thomas has announced its 2018 schedule for Women's Tennis. The Toms, who start practice in mid-January, play their first 2018 match on the road against St. Cloud State on Feb. 3 in Sartell. They are scheduled to have nine matches indoors, including seven at the University of Minnesota.

It's a milestone year for veteran Terry Peck. He starts his 25th season as the St. Thomas women's head coach along with his last 26 years as the UST men's head coach. Peck, who coached his 900th college tennis match last May, has a combined men's and women's dual record of 660-241 (.733 win %).

Two seniors will lead an otherwise younger lineup next winter and spring -- Caitlin Bakke (Career: 38-11 singles, 39-10 doubles) and Jenna Zimmerman (Career: 51-8 singles, 43-11 doubles).

Over the last four seasons, Tommie Women's Tennis has built a 65-13 dual record.

The Tommies opened its 2017-18 season in September as it posted an 8-1 win over Division II's Minnesota State Mankato.

 

2018 St. Thomas Women's Tennis Schedule

 

Sat. Feb. 3 at St. Cloud State (Sartell, Minn./Sta-Fit Courts) TBA

Sat. Feb. 10 at University of Minnesota club team (Mpls./U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) TBA

Sat. Feb 17 Concordia-Moorhead (Mpls./U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 6:30 p.m.

Sun. Feb. 18 St. Catherine (Mpls./U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 6 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 24 Macalester (Mpls./U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 5:30 p.m.

Sun. Feb. 25 St. Benedict (Mpls./U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 6 p.m.

 

Sat. Mar. 3 St. Norbert (Mpls./U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 2 p.m.

Fri. Mar. 9 St. Mary's (Winona/Winona Tennis Center) 6 p.m.

Sat. Mar. 17 St Olaf (Mpls./U of Minn. Baseline Tennis Center) 7 p.m.

Mar. 24-31 Spring Break Trip (Hilton Head, S.C.)

 

Sun Apr. 8 Hamline (St. Paul/St. Paul Academy courts) Noon

Sat. Apr. 14 at Bethel (Arden Hills/Ona Orth courts) 11 a.m.

Sun. Apr. 22 at Gustavus (St. Peter/GAC's Brown Tennis Courts) Noon

Sun. Apr. 29 at Carleton (Northfield/CC's courts) 2 p.m.

 

May 3-5 MIAC Playoffs (if qualify)