Tommie Sports - Volleyball

Wartburg Regional Tournament Notes

August 01, 2012

Wartburg "Knights" 2012 Season Notes -- Nov. 7

--Wartburg is ranked No. 11 in the AVCA Coaches Poll, released Nov. 6.

--Wartburg received the Iowa Conference's automatic bid by winning the conference tournament over the weekend.

--This was the fourth conference tournament title in school history.

--The Knights also won the regular-season conference title for the second time in school history.

-- This marks the Knights' seventh appearance in the NCAA tournament and first since 2010.

-- Five players, senior Britlyn Sieck (Fayette), juniors Kelly Niemann (Fredricksburg), Ramey Sieck (Fayette), Marissa Shinstine (Tripoli) and sophomore Bailey Wilson (West Des Moines), were named to the All-Conference team.

--Wartburg's total of five selections sets a new program-best as the old mark stood at four set in the 2002 season.

--Britlyn Sieck captured all-league honors for the fourth time to become just the 11th four-time all-league honoree and the third from Wartburg (Dia Dohlman, Rogers). She was a first-team selection in each of her first three seasons.

--Ramey Sieck and Niemann were honored for the third and second time in their careers, respectively.

--Ramey was named the Conference's MVP and head coach Jennifer Walker was named the IIAC Coach of the Year.

--Sieck is the third Wartburg player to earn Most Valuable Player honors following Kim Kelly in 1990 and Ashley Rogers in 2007. She is also the first setter to be named MVP since Loras' Jenny Dziubla in 2008

-- This is the second time Walker has been named IIAC Coach of the Year, also being honored in 2002 after Wartburg upset Central in the Iowa Conference tournament final to capture a share of the program's first IIAC crown.

--Britlyn is second on the program's list of all-time career leaders in kills and Ramey is third in assists.

Click here for Wartburg volleyball home page:

More Headlines