Deja Vu: Matt Schuld to wear St. Paul Saints jersey again

Deja Vu: Matt Schuld to wear St. Paul Saints jersey again

St. Paul Saints news release


He's back.

At age 29, former St. Thomas All-America pitcher Matt Schuld has signed on for a second stint with the St. Paul Saints.

He will accompany the Saints on this week's trip to Winnipeg. St. Paul is atop the North Division of the American Association but mired in a slump and short on pitchers.

Schuld pitched in 2012 withe Saints and also had a brief stint late in the 2014 season with the Fargo RedHawks.

In 2012, Schuld was 0-1 with a 4.91 ERA in three starts with the Saints. Earlier that summer he had a 3-1 record and 2.10 ERA while playing amateur baseball for the Minneapolis Lakers.

Schuld was signed by the Minnesota Twins as a non-drafted free agent in 2010 and spent two seasons in the Twins system, reaching Double-A New Britain for 17 appearances (five starts) in 2011. In 11 starts and 15 total appearances at high Class A Fort Myers, Schuld was 4-1 with a 3.99 ERA in 70 innings with 46 strikeouts and 19 walks. Before an injury prompted his release in 2012, he was 8-4 with a 4.90 ERA with four saves and 101 strikeouts in 149 innings in his two-season run with in the Twins' organization.

Schuld helped pitch St. Thomas to the 2009 NCAA III national championship. He was a two-time All-America; was the Division III and MIAC Pitcher of the Year in 2010; and broke the MIAC career record for pitching victories (30-5 overall mark).

Schuld was inducted into the UST Athletics Hall of Fame last fall.


Did You Know?

Schuld is among 15 different St. Thomas baseball alums in the last 20 years to play in a minor-league organization, or sign with the Northern or Independent League. In 10 of the last 12 seasons, at least one Tommie has been on the Saints rosters.

He's the ninth Tommie grad to pitch for the Saints as he joins Chris Olean (2001), Brian Whinnery (2006, 2007, 2008), Lonnie Robinson (2008, 2009), Brandon Stone (2010); Kris Edwards (2011); Dylan Thomas (2013); Tommy Danczyk (2014); and Eric Veglahn (2016, 2017).