Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

July Rewind: 4-for-4 in pool for S&D seniors

July Rewind: 4-for-4 in pool for S&D seniors

Editor's Note: Starting July 7 and running through the rest of the month, will highlight 25 memorable events from the Tommies' successful 2017-18 athletic year


No. 25: Toms Rule the Pool

Last February, the Tommie Men's Swim-Dive senior class completed a rare 4-for-4 run of MIAC team championships during its era.

Brady Anderson, Dominic Azar, Biley Biwer, Ted Duff, Andrew Grabowski, Leo Galvin, Charles Hynes, Eliot Jacobson, Evan Kalb, Matthew Kearney, Warren Melton, Kyle Reid, Alex Robb and Michael Vandevoorde became the first Tommie senior class since 1951 to win a conference title each of their four years.

Over the last 40 seasons, only two other institutions have a similar MIAC title streak: St. Olaf won 20 consecutive from 1980-99, and Gustavus won five in a row from 2002-2006.

St. Thomas Swim-Dive has swept the MIAC men's and women's team crowns each of the last three years, too. No other conference institution can claim such a streak in the last 20 years.

Scott Blanchard, who started as Tommie head coach in fall 2014, joins an select list of conference coaches to win the MIAC crown each of their first four seasons.

The St. Thomas men have now captured six of the last nine conference team championships.

Biwer (18 career MIAC relay-individual titles) was voted MIAC Swimmer of the Year, and Grabowski (seven of eight career MIAC titles) was named MIAC Men's Diver of the Year.


Four Peat

  • 2017-18: UST men take first with 908 points (14 victories), Gustavus second with 759.5
  • 2016-17: UST men take first with 910 points (11 victories), Gustavus second with 653
  • 2015-16: UST men take first with 883.5 points (15 victories), St. John's second with 495
  • 2014-15: UST men take first with 808 points (nine victories), St. Olaf second with 604.5

Feb. 2018 Gene's Blog on Swim-Dive success